To protect our state’s bicycle riders, the “Three Feet For Safety Act” became the law in California in 2014. When passing people riding bicycles, drivers are now required to give at least three feet of clearance. The law also says that if three feet of clearance space isn’t possible, drivers must reduce their speed “and may only pass when doing so would not endanger the safety of the operator of the bicycle.” When bicyclists are injured by negligent drivers, the new law can give them additional evidence of negligence when they seek compensation for their injuries. If you are a bicyclist injured by a negligent driver in Los Angeles or elsewhere in southern California, discuss your rights and options at once with an experienced Los Angeles personal injury attorney.
Failing to provide a bicyclist with three feet of space can result in a $35 fine. The fine goes up to $220 if the bicyclist sustains an injury. That’s not much; 153 California bicycle riders died in accidents with motor vehicles in 2012. Hopefully, the new law will at least encourage drivers to be safer around bicyclists. Thankfully for accident victims, nothing in the Three Feet For Safety Act protects negligent drivers from a personal injury lawsuit.
Drivers, of course, aren’t the only ones who need to use caution on California’s streets and highways. Bicyclists should always ride with the flow of traffic and always stop at stop signs and red lights. At night, bike riders should wear reflective clothing so that they’re easily seen by motorists. But even when you take these precautions, if a vehicle collides with you while you’re bicycling, the damage can be catastrophic. Some accident victims are permanently disabled. If you are injured by a negligent driver while bicycling in the Los Angeles area, arrange to speak with an experienced Los Angeles personal injury attorney as quickly as possible.